A friend at work asked me if I wanted to join her for a mani-pedi on Friday (really she asked all of us and I was the only one that didn't have plans.) So, of course I said yes. Why would you say no if your plans prior to said invitation were to go home and turn on some Dr. Who while you cleaned the kitchen and maybe neatened up your sewing area? After an hour or so she asked if I was serious and I replied with a "hell yes!" and then a moment later changed it to "how much do they charge?" She had to Google it (we gals in the office are strong in the ways of the Google) and it turns out the place she was thinking of was only $30 for a basic mani-pedi.
It was on! It was a Friday so I was in skinny jeans and a cute top&sweater combo that were not ideal for sticking your feet in the wondrous bubbling pool of water sitting in front of the massage chair. I kid you not, I was seriously contemplating cutting the sides of the jeans so that they would roll up high enough. Thankfully, despite my enormous calf muscles (and yet I still don't have cankles, praise be to the fashion gods!) I was able to tug the hems a little more than halfway up my leg, far enough that I could place both my feet in that delightfully scented water and relax back into the kneading balls of the chair. Heh, balls.
Anyone else hit up a nail salon without really planning ahead and then realize, as they go to lift their pant legs, that there is a forest hiding under the long legs of their clothing? I, on top of having hairy legs (I'm single, who would I be shaving for? Besides it's cold out now and I'm wearing pants. Pants mean I don't have to shave because you can't see my legs anyway) but I also have a little bit of Hobbit-foot going on as well. Usually that gets shaved with the rest of my legs, but as I haven't shaved in like, 6 weeks, it was rather obvious. My hair is black, my skin is the lightest shade of Olive there is, I would say white but you'd understand why I don't if you could see my mother, and the hair is really obvious.
I felt a bit embarrassed and amused for about twenty minutes until I mentioned it to the gal from work. She hadn't noticed my Hobbit-Feet (admittedly there is only the tiniest Happy Pedi-trail) and then informed me that dudes come in for Pedicures as well so the ladies giving me the calf massage had seen much worse. With that I relaxed into the chair (I want one for my house. I will just constantly be soaking my feet and purring like a content cat all the time) and had a lovely talk with the gal. I have got to think of a better name. I mean, it's weird to use other peoples' names in your blog, right? Because what if they don't want people to know it's them? Or just don't want to be mentioned at all. I shall give them code names! Really obvious code names. Yes. Like pets, but better!
I got a mani-pedi with Ms Kitty Fantastico, the Holy Yoga Rock and Rolla. We had a good talk, all about the randomness of work and how much we weren't sure we would like the other gals that came to be at the office (each other included) but how we are all surprisingly awesome with each other. It was awesome, we both overshare a bit too much about different kinds of things, we have humor that aligns well, and it was super fun. It was our second time hanging out outside of work (the first time we went and saw Enders Game because fuck yeah!) and I really enjoy her as a person.
On that note I will leave you with one though. There is only Zuul. (That's the name of my new Betta.)
Monday, November 18, 2013
Wednesday, November 13, 2013
Skittles make me think of Gay Porn.
Yes, this is supposed to be a sneaky-geeky fashion blog (that gets far fewer viewers than a blogger might wish) but as it is mine, as evidenced by my name in the title, I think it gives me a little leeway to simply spout my thoughts on occasion when things really strike me as odd. Also, I am contemplating making this blog just for my random word spouts and then reposting my fashion/inspiration sets on a new blog that I have been wanting to make and advertise as being for "women who want to wear their geek to work" or something. I dunno, still working it.
SO! The random thoughts kicking through my head at the moment - Candy Is Dirty. No joke, of course it could just be my brain. It seems to be hardwired to the naughty setting, it can be very distracting at times as I am a visual thinker. I think in pictures, those pictures tend to be incredibly detailed. Admittedly, that's nice on occasion.
So Halloween was a couple of weeks ago and I don't have kids, am not sure if I want kids or not, and tend to hit up Halloween parties so that I don't have to give out candy to other peoples' kids. However, just about everyone at work is the opposite. So I get to work after Halloween and I am handed bags of candy to stick in a candy bowl for truck drivers coming into my office and whoever else may need a quick sugar rush.
It probably wouldn't have been so bad except that we were also discussing childhood television programming (because I was wearing my ridiculously awesome Care Bear socks!) and the messages those can send to children. In my brain, when you mix Care Bears and Candy I burn the brain to mouth filter and simply let out all my thoughts on the topics at hand. It started out with the Skittles dilemma.
I don't eat Skittles, I've just never liked how they feel when they stick to your teeth as you chew them, I found it disgusting as a child. As an adult (and when I was a teen) I couldn't eat them because of their slogan. Taste the rainbow! To this day, all I can think about is gay porn. Let's touch back on that whole visual thinker comment from a few paragraphs back, shall we? Full color, incredibly detailed pictures all in my head, running through and making me laugh and gag and wish I were a gay man all at once. Yeah, you taste that rainbow.
Let's move on, shall we? Tootsie pops are also blatantly dirty - How many licks does it take to get to that center? Of course then the owl bites and I giggle because I picture a man howling in pain and for some reason that just amuses the shit out of me. That should be a Cards Against Humanity option "That Tootsie Pop Owl trying to give you head and biting down halfway through" or something equally uncomfortable that you have to play when a guy is the judge because it's fun to watch them squirm.
The list goes on, though. M&M's - they melt in your mouth, not your hand. Those awesome Cherry Gummies? Totally look like testicles. Reeses! There is no wrong way to eat a Reeses. Then they show that it gets nibbled around the outside before the center is devoured. How is that not considered raunchy? I just want to grab most of my ex-boyfriends and go "See?! Right there! Just do it that way." I mean, I could go on forever.
To be fair, I do realize that even 20 years ago these things might not have seemed quite so obviously sexual in nature, but as rampant (hah) as sexual innuendo is these days, and how easy it is to make things sound dirty? They are really just making it easier for us. So that's my random post and this is me saying that it's okay to be dirty, just try not to encourage kids to be dirty as well.
SO! The random thoughts kicking through my head at the moment - Candy Is Dirty. No joke, of course it could just be my brain. It seems to be hardwired to the naughty setting, it can be very distracting at times as I am a visual thinker. I think in pictures, those pictures tend to be incredibly detailed. Admittedly, that's nice on occasion.
So Halloween was a couple of weeks ago and I don't have kids, am not sure if I want kids or not, and tend to hit up Halloween parties so that I don't have to give out candy to other peoples' kids. However, just about everyone at work is the opposite. So I get to work after Halloween and I am handed bags of candy to stick in a candy bowl for truck drivers coming into my office and whoever else may need a quick sugar rush.
It probably wouldn't have been so bad except that we were also discussing childhood television programming (because I was wearing my ridiculously awesome Care Bear socks!) and the messages those can send to children. In my brain, when you mix Care Bears and Candy I burn the brain to mouth filter and simply let out all my thoughts on the topics at hand. It started out with the Skittles dilemma.
I don't eat Skittles, I've just never liked how they feel when they stick to your teeth as you chew them, I found it disgusting as a child. As an adult (and when I was a teen) I couldn't eat them because of their slogan. Taste the rainbow! To this day, all I can think about is gay porn. Let's touch back on that whole visual thinker comment from a few paragraphs back, shall we? Full color, incredibly detailed pictures all in my head, running through and making me laugh and gag and wish I were a gay man all at once. Yeah, you taste that rainbow.
Let's move on, shall we? Tootsie pops are also blatantly dirty - How many licks does it take to get to that center? Of course then the owl bites and I giggle because I picture a man howling in pain and for some reason that just amuses the shit out of me. That should be a Cards Against Humanity option "That Tootsie Pop Owl trying to give you head and biting down halfway through" or something equally uncomfortable that you have to play when a guy is the judge because it's fun to watch them squirm.
The list goes on, though. M&M's - they melt in your mouth, not your hand. Those awesome Cherry Gummies? Totally look like testicles. Reeses! There is no wrong way to eat a Reeses. Then they show that it gets nibbled around the outside before the center is devoured. How is that not considered raunchy? I just want to grab most of my ex-boyfriends and go "See?! Right there! Just do it that way." I mean, I could go on forever.
To be fair, I do realize that even 20 years ago these things might not have seemed quite so obviously sexual in nature, but as rampant (hah) as sexual innuendo is these days, and how easy it is to make things sound dirty? They are really just making it easier for us. So that's my random post and this is me saying that it's okay to be dirty, just try not to encourage kids to be dirty as well.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)