So my summer has been crazy, I hope everyone else's was less so. Spending a couple days with doctors wondering if they were going to cut your arm off can kind of put a downer on things, you know? That being said, my fear of spiders? Not going away any time soon. I can say, though, that I am much more willing to take the chance of getting close enough to squish them dead myself. So long as it's not Molly the Daddy Long Legs in my bathroom, she keeps things from getting in through the window. She's a pal.
My roommate, the illustrious Cal, has gotten a new chicken. It looks like a zombie. She claims it's name is Benji, however I refuse to believe it can be referred to as anything other than Chombie, the Chicken Zombie. I feel like I should write children's books about her backyard exploits. She's a sweet little thing, even with the red eyes and 2 extra claws on each foot. I rather enjoy her more than the other chickens, possibly because she doesn't peck at any of them and it makes her seem friendly. She is smart enough to be lulling them into a false sense of security before she turns the rest of the peep. That's right folks, a group of chickens is called a peep. You have no idea how much I giggled over that information.
Zombie marshmallow creatures. It will never not be funny.
Lost my job. I say lost, but that implies sadness. While I miss a few of the people I worked with, I am glad that I am no longer there. Things were strange in that office and I stayed because I knew the people and the job, well it wasn't easy, but I knew the job as well. I did a lot of things that weren't part of my original job description, but those things needed to be done so I took them over. And then I took over more things. I started redoing training manuals (always with permission) and streamlining procedures so that we didn't have eleven extra (and redundant) steps. I did all of this without ever getting a pay raise. In fact, when I had hired on full time I had taken a pay cut. That was fine, I liked the people, I liked the location, I felt like it was worth it. I was told that after about 6 months I would have a raise. in the two years I worked with I received no raises, I did twice the work originally expected of me, and I spent the majority of it depressed because I felt unappreciated and none of the management team gave praises.
That being said, here are a few key things I think people should understand about running a company.
- If all you ever do is tell people what they need to do better and what they haven't done well enough, if you never point out the things a person does well ... the employee has no idea that you value them. - When you yell at your employees, it makes them feel that you, as management, don't actually know what you are doing. - When you chastise people in front of others, it is unprofessional and people lose confidence in your ability to lead. -Calling your employees your kids is incredibly demeaning - Standing on your toes to look down an employee's shirt and shake your head about cleavage while you yourself have a lower cut top? That is just sad. Also, it's a form of sexual harassment.
So there is my thoughts on that. As I said, I was not sad to leave. I miss some of the people, my Cat Lady especially. The Holy Yoga Rock and Rollah (aka the Cat Lady) was amazingly awesome. We would have a beer after an incredibly stressful day and just let everything roll off of us.
I have a new gig now, one with an AMAZING view, and people that I enjoy and an actual HR department. Not that it should really be an issue since people here know how to behave in a work environment. Yesterday I even wore one of my Sneaky-Geeky outfits, all I received were compliments. Things are looking up, my arm is still attached, and my yearly trek to Atlanta was amazing. I'll updated soon(ish, let's be honest here.)
No comments:
Post a Comment