Thursday, October 16, 2014

Dear GamerGate, I Am #NotYourShield

So I was explaining GamerGate to my mom last night and she responds with "What you are saying is terrorist behavior as defined by Homeland Security, why aren't they involved?" And it's been bugging me all day. Let's look at a few definitions, shall we?

According to google;

ter·ror·ism

ˈterəˌrizəmt

noun

the use of violence and intimidation in the pursuit of political aims.

Okay, fairly straightforward, right? Right now threats of violence and out right intimidation are being used in an anti-feminism effort in the gaming industry.

According to the FBI;

"Domestic terrorism" means activities with the following three characteristics:

Involve acts dangerous to human life that violate federal or state law;

Appear intended (i) to intimidate or coerce a civilian population; (ii) to influence the policy of a government by intimidation or coercion; or (iii) to affect the conduct of a government by mass destruction, assassination. or kidnapping; and occur primarily within the territorial jurisdiction of the U.S.

Okay, also pretty straightforward. GamerGate is using intimidation to coerce female gamers into giving up their livelihood and their stance on feminism in gaming and this is clearly occurring primarily within the US, as evidenced by the people being targeted residing here.

Supposedly the Department of Homeland Security deals with threats like the one toward Anita Sarkeesian and the USU lecture she was supposed to give, but I have yet to find any information regarding their involvement. The FBI is apparently involved with those threats as well as those against Brianna Wu, whom is no longer safe in her own home due to intense threats of violence and death. Threats that not only target Brianna herself, but her friends, her loved ones, and her future children. Hopefully they find the sick people doing the threatening and deal with them to the full extent of the law.

I've been seeing arguments on both sides and I thought I'd stay out of it as I, myself, am not a game maker, and I don't often play video games. Here's the problem with that, though; The more we ignore things, the more we put our heads under our pillows and pretend nothing can touch us if we can't see us, the more we are perpetuating the problem. We who look on it and shake our heads and say "too bad" and do not stand up for what is right.

Do you know what unlawful communication is? How about stalking? Both of those happened to women I admire and respect, and yet people seem to not being taking it seriously. In fact, more people glommed onto this GamerGate idea. It was as though the mere whisper of feminist happenings made all those against equality stand up and say "not on my watch!" as though they actually knew what was going on. It was incredibly disheartening. Do you know that you are telling your daughters and sisters and mothers that if they think for themselves, stand up for themselves, or ask to be treated fairly, they are opening themselves up to threats of violence and death? Further, you are telling them you believe they deserve it.

Slander, even on the internet, is still illegal as well. That is what the bilious extolling of Zoe Quinn's ex-boyfriend is, for those interested. Slander. Not just of her, but of the journalist in question as well. Sadly we still live in a world where a man accused of sleeping with a woman is quietly clapped on the back for a job well done, so he was mostly untouched by the issue. Zoe Quinn, however, was not so lucky as she has the misfortune of owning ovaries. While some say the issue has been run into the ground, I disagree. I'm not sure it will ever be run into the ground. Not when this disgustingly misogynistic behavior is not only continuing, but spreading like a California wildfire fueled by uninformed hate.

Brianna Wu was targeted as well. She has been a woman I've admired for some time, and GamerGate made me realize she is so much more wonderful than I'd ever suspected. Today she wrote a blog explaining how It Happened To Me on XO Jane, part of a larger group of articles regarding the abuse women deal with daily that I sincerely hope everyone takes the time to read. This happened to Wu while we, the Geek Community, watched.

There are sadly two sides to this issue; you are with GamerGate, or you are against GamerGate. Usually I say there are at least three sides, but this is one of those instances where staying quiet and pretending you don't see it means you are giving them more fuel for the fire because obviously we don't agree with the feminists, the equalists, and those who just believe in plain old human decency.

They threatened the wrong woman this time. I am the Godzilla of bitches. I have a backbone of pure adamantium, and I’m sick of seeing them abuse my friends. -- Brianna Wu

I am an Equalist. I do not believe in abusive tactics. I do not agree with GamerGate.

I do think some people involved with GamerGate joined the movement for what it was pretending to be. I believe that sometimes people go too far in an effort to make all things fair instead of thinking about the people they already have who are suddenly being told they no longer matter. I think we need to work on understanding boundaries and talking calmly about things instead of just throwing out hashtags and claiming anyone that doesn't also post that hashtag is evil incarnate. I do not agree with GamerGate because of it's origins and the things some of it's members are doing. However, that being said, I understand why #NotYourShield is being bandied about and sometimes I even agree with it.

#stopgamergate #socialjusticerogue

Dear GamerGate, I am #NotYourShield, and my silence can no longer be used as a weapon.

Stevie

Monday, October 13, 2014

Be A Geek, Not A Dick

This weekend was Geek Girl Con, a convention I always look forward to. It's not actually all about the girls, it's more about promoting inclusion for geekdom. We want a place where it's okay if you don't know how to to play a game, or if you don't read that comic, or know who those artists are. We are happy to teach you, to include you, to invite you in to our world and maybe create a fellow fan through our efforts. That is how it seems to be in my eyes, anyhow.

I was the Special Agent in charge of panel room LL2, along with fellow SA, Dieter, who was a darling and an incredibly, unflappably, calm port in the storm of my chaotic nature. Apparently I am that rare breed of nerd, the aggressive type. I don't even mean to be most of the time. I just have bitchy resting face and "you're an idiot" thinking face. I'm usually not thinking that people speaking with me are idiots or feeling particularly bitchy while contemplating sleep. I get that it can come across that way, though. Anyway, Dieter has pleasantly understanding resting face, so it was good to having him around. Especially as I cannot sit still for more than three minutes before I start to fidget. He's a good egg. I probably drove him nuts.

Onward, before I go off on another tangent! (you guys know you like them, though)

There were a lot of really interesting panels going on all weekend on a wide variety of topics, but the ones I was most interested in were the ones discussing harassment and exclusionary behavior. If you read my last post, My Fellow Geeks, then you know that this is kind of a big deal for me. It's a topic I feel strongly about for many reasons, some of which are incredibly personal. The non-personal reasons are simply because I am an Equalist at heart. No one group of people deserve more or less than any other group of people, extremists of any sort obviously being the exception.

So let's discuss some of the exclusionary things that I have dealt with and seen over the years, shall we? (By discuss, I really mean you all get to read what I write.)

I love being a geek and I love being a nerd, they are both properties of myself that I am rather proud of. I have been told they are not the same thing by many people who seem to be angry when I say I am both. I am actually aware that a geek and a nerd are different, so I'm not sure why so many people feel the need to explain it to me. I have also been told you have to be one or the other, which makes absolutely zero sense to me since the two overlap so very much. This is my first instance of exclusionary behavior. A nerd, by definition, is a single minded expert in a particular technical field. I am a fashion nerd. If you think fashion isn't technical, I'd like you to go attempt pin tuck pleats, a hidden zipper, or to make your own pattern for a jacket. It is not an easy task. Most cosplayers are nerds. The amount of detail they put into their costumes is incredible, the techniques they use to put together their costumes is even more so. Being a nerd doesn't mean you have to be involved in the sciences (though I would like to point out that I do go to school for nursing before I realized I did not have the patience or demeanor that was needed. I had a terrible bedside manner.) it means you have to be involved fully in something that requires concentration and effort. If there is something I don't know about fashion or sewing, I find someone who does know it and I learn it. I am a nerd.

[I would add an image here about them but most of the diagrams include words that irritate me and I am too lazy at the moment to make my own!]

A geek, as defined by urban dictionary (this is my favorite definition as it is the most flattering,) is a person who has excessive enthusiasm for and some expertise about a specialized subject or activity. I can safely say I have excessive enthusiasm for all kinds of things. These things include books retelling fairy tales, music, movies, cartoons, Wonder Woman, Shakespeare, Monopoly, all things Joss Whedon, obstacle course races, fashion, costume designers, musicals, Disney Cartoons, and Deadpool. I kind of want to repeat Deadpool a few times, just so everyone understands the crazy love I have for that character and all his madness. I am drawn to the chaotic characters, possibly because they remind me a bit of myself, and because they are incredibly fun. I much prefer the unexpected plot twists. My mother has a rule that I am not allowed to tell anyone who I think the killer/bad guy is in a film the first time we watch it, which is hard because the rest of them are allowed to comment and debate (unless it's intense, if it's intense we need to pay attention.) but I have to stay silent because I am too good at guessing the killers and plot twists. I think it's because of my odd ability to see the plot unfold in my brain that I like the chaotic characters, I can't guess what will happen next and it excites me, it draws me in. Though, even more than his chaotic nature, I think I like Deadpool's one liners the best. So I am a Nerdy Geek (A Geeky Nerd?) and I am proud of it. My interests are varied and interesting, some of them have a bit of overlap, some of them don't. Please stop asking me (or anyone else) to be one and not the other.

"You can't be here, you aren't a real fan!" Sometimes I'm not a fan. This is sometimes due to my just never having met anyone else into it, never having had the chance to try it out, or because I simply haven't heard of it before. Guess what, not everyone is at the con for the same reason you are. Instead of telling them to go away and being general butt about it, how about you ask them why they aren't a fan. How about you tell them about why you love [insert fandom here] so much. Invite them into your fandom! You know how you got new fans? By not chasing them away. If they aren't interested in it because they just aren't interested in it, this is not a bad thing, there is no reason to be afraid of or lash out at this person. I am not much of a video gamer. This isn't because I dislike it necessarily, though I do get bored after about half an hour, (except with Deadpool because I have an obsession,) however the biggest reason I stopped is because of how people treated me if I didn't like the video games they did or even if I liked a game they did like. It is a ridiculous double standard, and maybe the problem was that I made the "mistake" pof admitting that I am a female on the internet during a campaign, but you know what? I will never be ashamed of the fact that I am a female. I happen to enjoy being female. However, the passable enjoyment of video games is not so interesting that I feel the need to defend myself for playing.

Bronies. Holy hullabaloo, Bronies. Why the negativity? Some of the kindest, sweetest people I know are Bronies and Pegasisters. I don't understand the stigma that is involved with being a fan of MLP: Friendship is Magic. It's right in the name! It is a cartoon that is all about loving and accepting people for who you are. How is watching My Little Pony really any different than watching Sponge Bob or Justice League or Avatar (TLAB or TLOK) or Phinneas and Ferb? I freaking LOVE Phinneas and Ferb, I keep hoping my dog, Yoda, is actually Agent Y. He's a snarky little dude, I'd believe it. Back to MLP fans, if they love something harmless and gain joy from it, why tell them they shouldn't be allowed to watch it? Why tell them they shouldn't admit that they love it? It's no different than when I am told that I am into comics because it gets me attention. That I only go to conventions to be a sex symbol, that I can't play video games because I have breasts, that I will cheat in RPGs and have all the boys help me, that I have to be a healer or a sorceress because of my uterus.

FYI - I go to conventions because I like to volunteer at them. I like to watch from behind the scenes and see the excitement of people when they see something they cannot contain their excitement over. I love it when people lose their shit in a positive way.

Homestuck confuses me. I think it's mostly because people keep trying to explain parts from the middle and it's all this convoluted mess of ideas and time travel and I'm my own grandpa and I really just need to read it from the start to understand it, I think. Though I have die hard friends who still don't understand it, they love it anyhow. They tend to pat me on the head and tell me to go watch Doctor Who. I cannot say that out loud at most conventions without some stranger becoming aggressively offended by my ambivalence, though. I did not put your literal kitten in a blender (I promise I only do that with cards portraying kittens with names like Borris and Mittens) so you have no reason to suddenly hate me! I don't know you, if you love Homestuck that much, tell me why, tell me what makes you think it is the be all and end all of internet comics! Maybe it will change me mind, you wont know if you don't ask. I am incredibly susceptible to passionate geekery, it's what got me into Doctor Who!

Stop yelling at me and say something that will change my mind.

This weekend I had someone change my mind about the Destiel pairing. I have considered squicky and odd for quite some time because, in my mind, Castiel being an Angel who is borrowing an obviously straight man's body, a man who loves his wife and children with all his heart, if he were to have sex with Dean, he would be breaking that ttrust. Castiel would, in essence, be raping Jimmy Novak. That is, to me, disgusting on so many levels I can't even begin to explain. Someone told me that he was into it and I explained why I found it squicky, and he asked me how far along in the series I am (fifth season) and then asked if he could give me a couple of spoilers that would explain to me why it wasn't that bad. [spoiler alert!] Cas and Jimmy are destroyed and brought back and Cas basically comes back in the mortal form of Jimmy, it is his body. If it's Cas's body, fine, do as you will, fans!

We all need to keep an open mind, we need to invite people into our fandoms, explain why we love them. We need to listen to people when they are passionate about their fandoms! We need to have debates, not arguments, we need to talk, not yell. There are no fake geeks, there are simply people who may not be as big a fan as you, and people who haven't yet discovered they are fans. We need to give these people room to get into our world. We need to not be those people that used to pick on us as children because we didn't like what they did.

Change someones mind, don't attack them for being different.

Stevie

Thursday, October 9, 2014

My Fellow Geeks!

Let us try something in the next few cons we visit, shall we? Let's have each others backs. If you see someone looking uncomfortable and asking someone to leave them alone, step in. Step right on up and ask them how their day is, how they like the weather, if they know they are harassing someone.

Let's not look at someone's costume and think "Dude, I'm gonna go slap their ass!" Instead, let's politely say "that is an amazing costume!" And I say this for both men and women, because I have seen girls get incredibly handsy with men, it is a problem no matter when sex you are. Don't touch them if you don't know them. It's rude and often makes people uncomfortable.

"But they want to be touched, look how they are dressed!" No, chances are they are dressed like that because it makes them feel strong and powerful for a weekend, they get to be the person they looked up to for years. They are dressed up in an achingly screen accurate costume that shows that much skin because the artist wanted it that way. There is nothing wrong with that. Sure, some people dress skimpy because it gets them attention, but guess what, not everyone!

Ladies, stop trying to pet Superman when you realize those are his real muscles under that spandex. Gentlemen, stop trying to snuggle your face into Black Canary's breasts when you want a picture with her. Stop asking if the Steam Punk guys are stuffing their cod pieces, stop asking for proof of what's under the kilts, stop saying people are asking for these reactions. Rise up, be above these kinds of actions!

Let's not just walk past this sort of thing when we see it. Let's stop, walk up to the person perpetrating it, and ask if they have found our Lord and Savior, Cthulu. Let's make them feel awkward and make them want to walk away from the victim they targeted, and make no mistake, this person is a victim. While you are being awkwardly heroic, have your friend go find a volunteer or someone in security to come have a talk with that person you are now being incredibly familiar with, and let them explain what proper con etiquette is. I do 6+ comic conventions a year and every one of them has close to the same policy. If you are going to act like a fool, they are going to pull your badge. They have to know what is going on, though, and most people don't report it.

We need to police our own, guys. Geeks need to stand together, because who else is going to stand up for us? If someone doesn't understand how you are supposed to act at a convention, explain it to them. You shouldn't need signs posted on every wall, you shouldn't need to have the rules printed on the back of your badge, you shouldn't need someone to tell you to play nice with the other kids on the playground; you should know how to act like a decent human being.

This post came about because of a thread on Facebook regarding harassment signage at NYCC. I love that the signs are out and people can see them. We do the same at ECCC and RCCC and most others. We don't have those signs at Dragon*Con and people are upset about that. Do you know where the anti-harassment policy is at Dragon*Con? Every single person wears it. This policy is printed on the back of your badge so that you have no room to claim you were not aware. At D*C I work the Walk of Fame under some of my favorite convention Directors, we are a pretty tight knit group since none of us really leave the floor. I feel comfortable saying that not a single one of those people will ever put up with harassment should they see it. If you are at Dragon*Con and you are close to the WoF and you feel harassed, come on in and we will take care of it for you.

In regards to harassment, here is what I know from basically every convention I've ever worked though; We do not allow harassment. We do not allow pictures without consent. If someone asks you not to take their picture and you do or if you decide you want to be some kind of aggressive butt head, whether you are on our floor or in the main areas, we will pull your badge and walk you over to security. If you do not want to hand us your badge we will use our nifty walky-talkies or cell phones and follow you until security comes to us. If you choose to continue to be belligerent, we have local PD on hand and they have no problem being an escort. Conventions have no tolerance for harassment of any kind.

If you have a problem, find staff. We will do our best to take care of it.

So, my fellow geeks, let's take it upon ourselves to right the wrongs done to some of our brothers and sisters, shall we? If you see something happen turn around and say "Dude, don't be a dick, they said no." No means no. Repeat that word, it is our power word! No. No, we will not allow this. No, we will not stand for this. No, you cannot treat this person like an object because they are a person and they have feelings and they have rights. Let's remind people that we are all there because we are all fans and let's have each others backs.

Seriously guys, we can fix this.

Stevie

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Seriously, Ladies, Leggings Are Not Real Pants.

Leggings are an accessory, ladies. They are something you put on in place of tights. Something to keep your legs warm in the cold, or covered when you just don't feel like shaving your legs even though you want to wear that super cute dress hanging in your closet. They are an addition to an outfit, not a part of the base. I get that West Coast and East Coast fashion rules are different, and Pacific Northwest Rules are even more strange comparatively, but let's be real here for a moment, shall we? Leggings are not jeans. Leggings are not sweatpants. Leggings are not slacks. Leggings are leggings. Leggings are basically thick tights that you wear with tunics or dresses or, if you are going for more of a casual look, long t-shirts. Most leggings, when worn as pants, have the unfortunate effect of making those near you wonder if you lost your real pants because now they can see your underwear and you have the unfortunate luck to also have a hint of camel toe. You cannot unsee camel toe.

Wearing leggings properly means your crotch area should be covered.

There are the odd ones out, those few lucky individuals, that can rock the leggings without looking like they left their home half dressed. Most people, however, do not fall in that category. Even if you are one of those people, however, you still shouldn't wear them as pants to work. It is unprofessional unless you are a personal trainer or yoga instructor. Also, it makes all those girls that know better (and don't look as cute) kind of jealous. Maybe that's just me.

On the topic of accessories, why are people layering their scarves? This is Seattle, it is not that cold out. In fact, it's still pretty warm. We've got about a week before the rainy season starts (it's our longest season) and you shouldn't need all those layers. Also, next week when the rain really starts, you are going to be a soggy mess and it will be all your own fault. I am stomping down my foot and demanding you listen when I get to tell you I told you so.

With the bulky layering around your neck and shoulders you look a little like a body builder from the armpits up and it's creepy.

I guess we are going to stick to accessories because that's what I'm fixating on, and by we I mean I. So, accessories! Since we've hit leggings and the scarf debacle, let's move on to jewelry, shall we? I get that you have all this bling you want to show off. That's great. Wearing it all at once, however, is something less than great. "But they do it in magazines!" Of course they do! They are trying to sell you as much as possible in a single page ad. Also, it can be considered artistic rather than gaudy simply because it is a photo shoot and not something any of the creative directors or models would do in real life. When you wear bracelets piled up your arms and then add rings to every finger (or even every other finger) all anyone can see is a carnival fortune teller.

It's distracting.

Less actually is more in this case. Less jewelry is more flattering. If you are going to layer a couple of necklaces don't add dangling earrings. If you are going to pile on four or five bracelets, don't wear more than one ring.

No matter how great your outfit, no matter how professional (booty shorts are not professional ... I just want to throw that out there now.) the accessories can kill the rest of the outfit. Wearing a black skirt suit with black pumps and metallic blue leggings? The leggings killed the professionalism. Simple dress, nude nylons, matching heels, 6 necklaces? Necklaces killed the outfit. It's the little things, trends that are in for casual looks that people want to use at work, that ruin an outfit. So today's rant is kind of about that, but mostly because I'm tired of seeing what everyone's underwear looks like through the leggings.

Wear what looks good on you, not what looks good on other people,

Stevie