Thursday, October 9, 2014

My Fellow Geeks!

Let us try something in the next few cons we visit, shall we? Let's have each others backs. If you see someone looking uncomfortable and asking someone to leave them alone, step in. Step right on up and ask them how their day is, how they like the weather, if they know they are harassing someone.

Let's not look at someone's costume and think "Dude, I'm gonna go slap their ass!" Instead, let's politely say "that is an amazing costume!" And I say this for both men and women, because I have seen girls get incredibly handsy with men, it is a problem no matter when sex you are. Don't touch them if you don't know them. It's rude and often makes people uncomfortable.

"But they want to be touched, look how they are dressed!" No, chances are they are dressed like that because it makes them feel strong and powerful for a weekend, they get to be the person they looked up to for years. They are dressed up in an achingly screen accurate costume that shows that much skin because the artist wanted it that way. There is nothing wrong with that. Sure, some people dress skimpy because it gets them attention, but guess what, not everyone!

Ladies, stop trying to pet Superman when you realize those are his real muscles under that spandex. Gentlemen, stop trying to snuggle your face into Black Canary's breasts when you want a picture with her. Stop asking if the Steam Punk guys are stuffing their cod pieces, stop asking for proof of what's under the kilts, stop saying people are asking for these reactions. Rise up, be above these kinds of actions!

Let's not just walk past this sort of thing when we see it. Let's stop, walk up to the person perpetrating it, and ask if they have found our Lord and Savior, Cthulu. Let's make them feel awkward and make them want to walk away from the victim they targeted, and make no mistake, this person is a victim. While you are being awkwardly heroic, have your friend go find a volunteer or someone in security to come have a talk with that person you are now being incredibly familiar with, and let them explain what proper con etiquette is. I do 6+ comic conventions a year and every one of them has close to the same policy. If you are going to act like a fool, they are going to pull your badge. They have to know what is going on, though, and most people don't report it.

We need to police our own, guys. Geeks need to stand together, because who else is going to stand up for us? If someone doesn't understand how you are supposed to act at a convention, explain it to them. You shouldn't need signs posted on every wall, you shouldn't need to have the rules printed on the back of your badge, you shouldn't need someone to tell you to play nice with the other kids on the playground; you should know how to act like a decent human being.

This post came about because of a thread on Facebook regarding harassment signage at NYCC. I love that the signs are out and people can see them. We do the same at ECCC and RCCC and most others. We don't have those signs at Dragon*Con and people are upset about that. Do you know where the anti-harassment policy is at Dragon*Con? Every single person wears it. This policy is printed on the back of your badge so that you have no room to claim you were not aware. At D*C I work the Walk of Fame under some of my favorite convention Directors, we are a pretty tight knit group since none of us really leave the floor. I feel comfortable saying that not a single one of those people will ever put up with harassment should they see it. If you are at Dragon*Con and you are close to the WoF and you feel harassed, come on in and we will take care of it for you.

In regards to harassment, here is what I know from basically every convention I've ever worked though; We do not allow harassment. We do not allow pictures without consent. If someone asks you not to take their picture and you do or if you decide you want to be some kind of aggressive butt head, whether you are on our floor or in the main areas, we will pull your badge and walk you over to security. If you do not want to hand us your badge we will use our nifty walky-talkies or cell phones and follow you until security comes to us. If you choose to continue to be belligerent, we have local PD on hand and they have no problem being an escort. Conventions have no tolerance for harassment of any kind.

If you have a problem, find staff. We will do our best to take care of it.

So, my fellow geeks, let's take it upon ourselves to right the wrongs done to some of our brothers and sisters, shall we? If you see something happen turn around and say "Dude, don't be a dick, they said no." No means no. Repeat that word, it is our power word! No. No, we will not allow this. No, we will not stand for this. No, you cannot treat this person like an object because they are a person and they have feelings and they have rights. Let's remind people that we are all there because we are all fans and let's have each others backs.

Seriously guys, we can fix this.

Stevie

No comments:

Post a Comment